Chad K. Park's Blog

22, December 2011

Lipoma or not lipoma?

Filed under: Uncategorized — chadkpark @ 10:12 am

Well, it was a sebaceous cyst.  The doc thinks she got all of it out.  I was hoping lipoma what with my whole lipid research angle.  It would have been poetic.  Besides, it might have been a nice conversation piece to keep in formaldehyde.

I found out that I do quite well on propofol and fentanyl.  I have to admit, it was exactly like they said – well almost.  I thought I would be in a ‘twilight sleep’.  I thought that meant I would be made groggy by watching the whole movie series.  However, there are probably a lot of side effects like vomiting.  So when the anesthesiologist said that the propofol was already in and he was just about to inject the fentanyl I thought, ‘oh well, I guess “Twilight” is out and I’m getting ventilated.’  I mentioned to him that I was an author on a paper in JMB that studied fentanyl derivatives.  He was singularly unimpressed.  His loss.  At least they had the right size ventilation tube, unlike poor Nancy who had one at least 1 size too large.  My throat feels like I have just a minor cold instead of a major infection.  I don’t remember anything after the injection.  I woke up with a big old bandage on the back of my neck and a crick like you can’t believe.

I didn’t know this because this was my first surgery, but you’re not supposed to eat or drink anything for at least 12 hours before they cut you.  I stopped eating at 9 pm the night before and had some water until about 11.  The next day, I swear, I was 3 lbs lighter.  When the surgery was over, I sought to remedy that.  Nan took me to a Chinese restaurant so I could start off with soup.  Then I ate just about everything I thought might help me heal fast and took a truckload of ibuprofen and vitamins and now it’s time for rest.

Now is the hard part.  Recovery, no training*, no lifting, no jogging (!) for about 2 weeks, possibly 4.  Plus I get to have my stitches removed.  I’ve heard that’s fun.

*I’ll find some way to train.  Isolation exercises, leg lifts, squats, grip work, etc.

2 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear that you got through the surgery. Sorry they were unimpressed with your paper.
    I guess instead of working out in the man cave, you are going to be sitting out there drinking beer. I will have to come up and sit with you (like I said I would for the last 1000 years!).

    Comment by Honey Cheeks MacIntosh — 23, December 2011 @ 12:23 am

    • Yah, you betcha. Come on by and we’ll lift what we can even if it’s 12 oz. at a time. Or maybe even 750 mL of Highland single malt (although I’ve gotten a lot of mileage out of the cheaper, blended ones lately).

      Comment by chadkpark — 23, December 2011 @ 8:27 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

counterclockwise

because I'm holding a thermal detonator

Grow family. Grow!

growth of our family

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

