Chad K. Park's Blog

31, January 2012

My first diet book.

Filed under: Uncategorized — chadkpark @ 10:31 am

If someone in your circle handed you a diet book – no prelude, no discussion of diet, never having said, “oh I want to lose weight” – would you be offended?

I was.  At least at first I was offended.  Now though, I should have thanked the person who regifted me that book.

I knew I was overweight.  I could see it in the mirror, I had a doctor tell it to my face; Hell, I could *feel* it.  But I didn’t want to deal with it.  Even when that diet book was dropped in my chubby lap, I didn’t want to deal with it.  But… it was a book.  And I’m a curious bastard (officially, I’m a Young Bastard but that’s another story).  So I read the thing.  I wish I could remember what it was called and who wrote it.  The guy had some chops above and beyond the normal doctor-writes-another-diet book.

One of my favorite sections was about how important fiber is.  It really helped me deal with refined sweets and fruit juices versus real fruit.  He describes how fiber is a regulator of fat storage.  When you take in fiber, it’s usually because you’re eating healthy fresh (think springtime) vegetables.  There’s no reason to store fat so your body starts taking it off.  It’s like your body knows that it can count on more good food around the corner.  He was recommending 50 g/day for guys my size.  I immediately upped my strawberry intake.

Another part this guy (who, dammit, I wish I could remember) was challenging other dieting gurus to a debate – in their bathing suits.  I like it when someone who talks the talk also walks the walk.

He also had a lot of primary references available.  He rarely said, ‘scientists have found’ without a pointer to a peer reviewed scientific article.  I really appreciated that.

This was also the first time that I had heard someone kick the grains out of the food pyramid.  I wasn’t 100% on board, but I was pretty happy cutting down on grains in general, and start kicking out the one that bored me the most.  Good bye, rice. Buh-bye.

So, I hacked a chunk off that big bready bottom of the old food pyramid and gave up a lot of rice and soft bread (refined wheat).  Of course, back then, I was still into cereal for breakfast, so I was eating fiber one with strawberries.  I saw some improvement and even kept track of my weight for a while.  I eventually slipped back into old, bad habits, but that lesson about fiber stuck with me and I heard it again and again as I kept climbing back on the weight loss wagon.

When I look back though, it was that book that started a lot of weight loss.
1 Comment »

  1. Was it Joel Fuhrman? Eat to Live? I’m in the middle of that right now and feel like I’m being lectured and berated for my foolish behaviour, but rightly so.

    Comment by Tepary @ GrowFamilyGrow — 28, February 2012 @ 11:55 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

counterclockwise

because I'm holding a thermal detonator

Grow family. Grow!

growth of our family

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

