Chad K. Park's Blog

22, April 2012

21 April 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — chadkpark @ 8:18 am

Open gym means it’s time to get crazy.

3 rounds for time:

5 chest-to-bar pullups

5 squat snatch 65#

5 each side 44# KB press

5 GHD situps

5 boxjumps 30″

Warmup – mostly jumprope and some variants of PVC shoulder movement and the worlds greatest stretch.

The workout?  Well, the last shall be first and why not.  Box jumps have always been a staple since they are such a fundamental movement for my goals.  The GHD situps – these are really only available at the gym as I haven’t fabricated anything that can let me do them at home. The 44# was a heavier kettlebell than I’m used to playing with and that kind of set me at 5 reps (that plus the fact that I wanted a light fast work out).  Squat snatch was supposed to help me get to heavier snatching.  I was hoping that I would be able to get into some deep squats with weight over head.  However, I just kind of got deeper and ended up making myself do an overhead squat.  Prior to the workout I had done some singles up to 85# just trying it out (~ 85% of max) but it just didn’t feel right and the trapezius was spazzing out at times.  Finally, the chest-to-bar pullups needed the use of the red band.  This is probably the 2nd or 3rd smallest band, but I still need it to get my weight substantially over the bar.  Someday, someday, someday there will be a muscle up.  Focus, dedication & drive and I will get there.  Overall the workout was pretty light although it took me 11:32 to get it all done.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

counterclockwise

because I'm holding a thermal detonator

Grow family. Grow!

growth of our family

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

